Awards, Grants and Scholarships > NHIVNA Awards >

NHIVNA / Gilead Sciences HIV Nursing Award

The NHIVNA / Gilead HIV Nursing Award was set up in 2007 to recognise the outstanding achievements of nurses who have made a significant or unique contribution to the care and quality of life of people with HIV. These contributions could be in relation to:

  • Innovation and excellence in improving patient care

  • Service delivery

  • Multi-disciplinary working

  • Workforce planning

  • Establishing new standards of care

  • Developing new ways of working

  • Something out of the ordinary

All current NHIVNA members are eligible for this award, although previous winners of this award are not eligible for future nominations.

Previous winners

  • 2019: Mr Bob Downes, The Royal Liverpool University Hospital Trust
    Ms Justine Mellor, The Northern Contraception, Sexual Health and HIV Service at The Hathersage Centre

  • 2018: Heather Renton, East Sussex Healthcare NHS Trust

  • 2017: Michelle Croston, North Manchester General Hospital

  • 2016: Jane Holder, Musgrove Hospital Starling Clinic

  • 2015: Gary Barker, St Helen's and Knowsley Teaching Hospitals NHS Trust

  • 2014: Pauline Jelliman, Liverpool Community Health NHS Trust

  • 2013: Anna Bamford, Sussex Community Health NHS Trust

  • 2012: Jane Bruton, Chelsea and Westminster Hospital, London

  • 2011: Shena Boyle, Western General Hospital, Edinburgh

  • 2010: Breda Patterson (Ward), Chelsea and Westminster Hospital, London

  • 2009: Maxine Owen, Birmingham Heartlands Hospital

Mr Bob Downes and Ms Justine Mellor

Pictured from left to right: Cindy Elliott (Gilead Sciences), Justine Mellor, Bob Downes, Shaun Watson (NHIVNA Chair)

NHIVNA / Gilead Sciences HIV Research Nurse of the Year Award

The NHIVNA / Gilead HIV Research Nurse Award was awarded for the first time in 2017, recognising a nurse who has conducted a unique piece of research or audit for 2018.


  • 2017: Dr Eileen Nixon, Brighton and Sussex University Hospitals

NHIVNA / Gilead Sciences HIV Research Nurse of the Year Award

Pictured: Shaun Watson (NHIVNA Chair), Eileen Nixon and Cindy Elliott (Gilead Sciences)