Awards, Grants and Scholarships > Previous Conference Award Winners >

NHIVNA Nicky Perry Academic Award


NHIVNA announced the Nicky Perry Academic Award at the NHIVNA Annual Conference in June 2008 to acknowledge the contribution that Nicky Perry made to NHIVNA for more than 10 years.

Purpose and Aim

The aim of this award is to support a nurse working within the field of HIV nursing to undertake a postgraduate programme of study.


  • Open to current NHIVNA members.*

  • NHIVNA membership must be retained for the duration of the postgraduate programme.

  • Nurses must be working in an acute or community setting with direct patient care as part of or their entire role.


  • Applications have now closed.

The Award

  • Priority will be given to those who have been NHIVNA members for more than one year.

  • Awards are granted consecutively. A new award cannot be made until the previous recipient has completed their postgraduate programme.

  • Maximum award of £2,000.

  • To cover the cost of:
    - tuition and course fees – payable to academic institution;
    - limited costs associated with attendance and completion of the course (e.g. books, travel expenses to and from academic institution, etc) – paid to award winner.

Previous winners

  • 2013: Katrina Humphreys, Royal South Hants Hospital, Southampton

  • 2010: Breda Patterson (Ward), Chelsea and Westminster Hospital, London

* Please note: Only applications from NHIVNA members will be accepted. To join NHIVNA, please click here.